,
Message sent from:

PTFA

What is a Parent, Teacher, Friends Association (PTFA)?

A PTFA is an organisation comprising parents, staff and friends of the school. Its role is to encourage closer links between home, school and the wider community. PTFAs are best known for their fundraising work, but they have a useful social function too. Fundraising events provide an opportunity for parents, staff, community members and pupils to get together.

PTFA committees usually meet at least once a term. Members also work in smaller groups to organise individual events.

Glebe PTFA

“Since it was established the Glebe PTFA has raised thousands of pounds for the benefit of our children. Through our fundraising activities we have contributed to the enrichment of the learning experience by making improvements to the school’s provision including the development of the school grounds and sports facilities. In recent years our funding has paid for the installation of the stage lighting in the Hall, the school minibus and many other additional resources.”  Vijya Garara – Secretary of the Glebe PTFA

How can parents be part of the Glebe PTFA?

There are many different ways that parents can give their support to the PTFA. Some parents are members of the committee and attend the regular meetings.

Other parents give their support in other ways including:

  • running a stall at the Summer Fair
  • baking for a cake sale
  • giving support to fundraising events
  • helping out at special events e.g. at a disco or film club.

You can always support PTFA events by simply turning up.

New Fundraising Project

In recent years the PTFA has raised money to purchase the school minibus, stage lighting and a sound system in the Hall, play equipment for the playground and the fitness trail on the school field. Last year the PTFA raised fund to redevelop the school garden.  The PTFA committee has now agreed to raise fund to purchase new technology equipment.

Fundraising Events

More information about our fundraising events can be found in our termly newsletter and on the display boards situated in the school playground.

Harvest Assembly – Friday 29th September 2017

PTFA Termly Newsletters

Fundraising Events

Autumn Term Events & Activities

Tuesday 19th September - PTFA Meeting

Friday  29th September - Harvest Celebrations

Friday  29th September - Macmillan Coffee Morning

6th – 10th November - British Legion Poppy Appeal

Friday 17th November - Children in Need

Tuesday 21st November - PTFA Meeting

Thursday  30th November - Film Club Years 3 - 6

Friday 8th December  - Family Disco

Wednesday 20th December - Christmas Jumper Day

Wednesday 20th December - Christmas Hamper Raffle

Spring Term Events & Activities

Tuesday 23rd January - PTFA Meeting

Friday 26th January - Bring and Buy Sale

Wednesday 7th February - Family Bingo

Friday 9th February - Mufti Day

26th Feb – 2nd March - Sponsored read

Tuesday 6th March - PTFA Meeting

17th – 23rd March - Sport Relief

Thursday 29th March - Mufti Day

Thursday 29th March - Easter Parade & Cake Sale

Summer Term Events & Activities

Friday 18th May - Day for Change
Friday 25th May - Mufti Day
Tuesday 12th June - PTFA Meeting
Thursday 21st June -International Evening
2nd – 6th July - Sponsored skipping
Tuesday 10th July - Summer Fair Prep
Friday 13th July - Summer Fair
Wednesday 18th July - Year Group Discos
Friday 20th July - Mufti Day

X
Hit enter to search